4th Annual Symposium on Integrative Conservation

The 4th Annual Symposium on Integrative Conservation (SIC) was held Friday, January 27, 2017 at the UGA Coverdell Center. Featuring 14 presentations by ICON students, as well as a keynote lecture by Dr. Mara Goldman (CU-Boulder), the event showcased integrative research and provided a venue for faculty, students, and prospective ICON applicants to share ideas and network.

Toward the end of the day, Dr. Nik Heynen announced the winners of the J. Peter Brosius Integrative Conservation Research Award (Ryan Unks, ICON & Forestry and Natural Resources) and the ICON Agile Scientist Award (Jessica Chappell, ICON & Ecology). Dr. Heynen also presented the first Ashley Block Memorial Award (Emily Ayscue, ICON & Forestry and Natural Resources). Each award comes with a $250 grant to support the student’s research.

This event could not have happened without the hard work and planning of the ICON student volunteers, listed below:

Co-chairs: Emily Ayscue and Kristen Lear
Program committee: Mariana B. Alfonso Fragomeni (chair), Jeffrey Beauvais, Dina Rasquinha
Audio-visual committee: Suraj Upadhaya (chair), Jon Hallemeier
Feedback committee: Jillian Howard (chair), Michelle Evans
Culinary logistics committee: Jessica Chappell (chair)
Prospective students boarding committee: Keysa Rosas-Rodriguez (chair)
Souvenir committee: Sarah Horsley (chair)
Publicity Committee: Hannah Morris (chair), Joy Ganguly